Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Robot recommendations for milling wood

Hey guys! I'm a woodworker who is very interested in CNC routers.  I should probably build a router table first, but I am so intrigued with robots, and I have already found a few arms for decent prices.  There are so many used robots on the market, and I'm wondering if there are certain brands or controllers that work best with RoboDK.  Obviously the newer the controller the better I assume, but are there certain older controllers that work really well with RoboDK for milling projects despite being old?  I know programs tend to get large with milling operations, so memory available on the controller is a big issue, as well as the ease of getting them onto the pendant.  

I see a lot of guys who mill using Kuka robots, and I have talked to one guy who loves his krc2ed05 controller, which runs windows xp and has a program size limit of 20mb which he says is plenty.  Are there certain Fanuc or motoman or ABB controllers that work well or ones that should be avoided at all costs for milling?

Thanks for any thoughts!
Yep, milling programs tend to be huge, and get above the robot controllers memory limit.

But, in some cases, You can "stream" the program to the robot, using some manufacturer optional software (KUKA CamRob, fpr example), or maybe using RoboDK "connect to the robot" feature. Never did the last one myself, but I think this would be doable.
Hi guys,

That Massula said is right, milling projects tend to be quite big and are often too big for the robot controller memory.