Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Issues with IO control with RoboDK socket Driver and IRC5 controller

Hello and thank you in advance.

I am quite new to the RoboDK environment and robotics in general actually.
I am trying to control an ABB robot (IRB 1200) with the IRC5 controller, through RoboDK. For online programming I am using the standard RoboDK socket driver module. I am able to control the movements of the robot without any issues with this method. Everything works fine but the moment I try to control any of the digital output signals of the robot, the socket driver stops running on the robot and I get the message "Implement setting Digital Outputs" on the flex pendant. I have to run the module again to be able to connect and control the movements again. I have attached the image of the messages on the Flex Pendant. The pointer seems to stop the program at line 288 (case 13). I have also tried trying multiple combinations for the name of the digital output to check if I am entering something wrong, but that doesn't seem to affect anything. 

Please let me know if I am missing something, or if any modifications to the driver mod file is required. I tried looking through the forum for similar issues, and found people facing similar issues. But none of the resolutions seems to be working for me. Kindly let me know if more details are required, any help is much appreciated.

Best regards,
Vivek

Attached Files Image(s)

You should manually edit the MOD file to convert the numeric ID (num1) to a DO_Signal value for ABB IRC5 controllers. These are usually mapped by name in the ABB controller. Therefore, you may need to implement a custom Switch case to convert the ID to a variable name.
Hello and thank you for your response.