Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Setting robot start point on a milling project

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie to robotics, but have 15 years experience in the stone sculpting trade. I have a Kuka KR120 2700 and I purchased a license of RoboDK. I would really appreciate tips on how to setup the start position of my milling project.

How do I set Robot start point? I ran a simple joint movement program today and my robot wanted to turn almost 180'

Mike Rhodes

Any help would be priceless for me!

MR
Did you move the robot using a joint movement to a Cartesian target (XYZABC) or a joint target (A1-A6 axis values)?

Can you share your RoboDK project (RDK file)? We can help you better.
Hi Albert. Her is a rough drawing of my cell. The large block in the center is where my rotating 7th axis is. This is obviously a very rough drawing. my Kuka is located directly adjacent to this. Here are the files. When I go to run this basic movement program on the robot, it wants to move 180 degrees in the direction facing away from the table.

Here you go Albert.

Thank you so much :)

Attached Files
.iges   KUKA KR120 CELL robodk.iges (Size: 68.87 KB / Downloads: 154)
.rdk   KUKA KR120.rdk (Size: 1.03 MB / Downloads: 136)
Of, and I moved the robot via the A1-6 Values. I also need to change the software limits on the Kuka as well.
Can you confirm if you are using the default post processor? The same one you have selected and you did not make any edits.

To clarify, you tested the following program:
Code:
; ---- Setting reference (Base) ----
; BASE_DATA[2] = {FRAME: X 1593.300,Y -199.697,Z 46.295,A 5.000,B 0.000,C 0.000}
$BASE = {FRAME: X 1593.300,Y -199.697,Z 46.295,A 5.000,B 0.000,C 0.000}
; $BASE = BASE_DATA[2]
; --------------------------
; ---- Setting tool (TCP) ----
$TOOL = {FRAME: X 0.000,Y -20.000,Z 430.000,A 0.000,B 30.000,C 0.000}
; --------------------------
PTP {A1 4.74577,A2 -117.26100,A3 114.05000,A4 124.00800,A5 -5.72799,A6 -124.14100,E1 0.00000}