Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Dobot CR12 Linear move (MovL) not working

Hello,

I have a Dobot CR12 that I'm turning into a 3D printer. I'm new to RoboDK so I have a lot to learn.

I can generate a simulation of the robot (with the extruder attached) from gcode. flawlessly. I can send the robot program to the robot through the Python interpreter and VSCodium. It starts the program with a joint move (robot.JointMovJ), but the second move is a linear move (robot.MovL) and that doesn't work.
I get this error: robot.MovL(479.207, -160.297, 541.740, 180.000)
TypeError: MovL() missing 2 required positional arguments: 'ry' and 'rz'

I have tried adding 0, 0 after 180, then I don't get an error inside Python, and the coder runs completely through. But the arm doesn't move and I get an error inside the DobotStudioPro: (Code: 22 - Type: Controller error - Description: Arm orientation error)

I tried using anothe post processor for another Robot, there I got a MovL with 6 values instead of the 4 I got in the Dobot post.

I'm wondering if someone has had luck with linear move with a DobotCR and can help me. I don't have the latest firmware for my Dobot controller (I have 3.5.2.) I'm waiting for Dobot to send it to me. Could that be the problem? I have no idea.

Another thing I cant get to work is connecting the Dobot through the RoboDK software, I use Robot port: 29999 and the connection status says I'm connected but I can't use the Get position or move the Robot from the software. It's not a big deal as it works through Python, but I'm just curious if anyone has controlled their Dobot through the RoboDK application. 

Best wishes
Aggi
Linear movements using the Dobot CR driver were fixed 2 days ago. I recommend you to take the latest version of RoboDK and try again.

Make sure you setup the same user frame and tool frame you use in RoboDK on the robot controller.

The new version uses the default port 29999 regardless of the port you enter in RoboDK.