Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Origin for machining

Hi, I need help. I am an absolute beginner in robotics. In the program I created a station with my robot and a turntable. I generated simple paths for machining. When the program is without a turntable, the spindle start milling in correct position. When I use a rotary table, the spindle right at the beginning wants to go somewhere else - I assume to the zero of the robot. Everything is correct in the simulation. I'm sure it's a small thing, but I can't find a fault. Many thanks, Honza

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

.rdk   KR90_Taktomat.rdk (Size: 8.32 MB / Downloads: 94)
You should properly configure your turntable so the robot controller is aware of it. When you go to the origin of your coordinate system, the robot should go towards the origin of the turntable.
Many thanks. So, do I understand correctly that I have everything correct in the RoboDK?

Is it necessary to change the zero point setting directly in the KUKA controller, via Teach Pendant?
You should configure your external axes using these 2 configuration files:
  • KRC\R1\System\$config.dat
  • KRC\R1\Mada\$machine.dat
When the external axes are properly configured on the robot controller, you simply need to load the turntable root point to RoboDK.

You can find more information here:
https://robodk.com/forum/Thread-How-to-c...2#pid13742
Thanks. I see that the same thing has already been discussed here several times. I assumed that I can only change the position of the rotary table in RoboDK according to the current need and the position will be set for the KUKA robot.